Skip to content

The Final Fat Loss Experiment: Low Fructose, High Fiber

February 10, 2014

Over the last 5 years, I’ve tried many approaches to lose weight. I’m not really comfortable seeing myself as just another “yo-yo dieter”, but weight wise that’s what I am. For all my adult life (I’m 39 years old right now) my weight had been steadily increasing over the years, reaching an all time high of about 118kg in my early 30s. Ever since I’ve been reading 25+ books on health, fitness and nutrition, and although I’ve been managing to lose – and keep off – more than 10kg since that all time high, I really want to get back to where I started 20 years ago: A lean 80kg. And at the end of 2012 I was already there – through a combination of carbohydrate (and caloric) reduction and intermittent fasting I had reached 90kg. However, in 2013 I managed to gain back a whopping 14kg.

This being the beginning of 2014, I said to myself: no more “experiments”. I made a final effort to review the literature once again, including some new books which came out recently (more about them in later posts). The last month (January 2014) I played around with some strategies like low-carb, high-fiber, low-sugar, no breakfast, big breakfast and so forth … I even tried Dave Asprey’s bulletproof coffee (you essentially mix coffee with butter and mct oil). Unfortunately, even though I lost about 1kg of weight, especially the extreme reduction of carbohydrate didn’t feel quite right.

To cut a long story short: Having watched Robert Lustig’s viral YouTube video about sugar again, I thought long and hard about diet and metabolism, and now I agree with his supposition that low fructose, high fiber is the way to go. Obviously this can be implemented with a varying degree of carbohydrates, fat and protein – so for my final fat loss experiment, I’ll now test different macronutrient compositions each couple of weeks and will stick with the one which works best, all the time ensuring the big rule:

Rule #1: Low Fructose, High Fiber

 And here are some of the secondary macronutrient composition strategies:

  • Low Carb, High Fat, Low Protein: Didn’t work too great for me in January.
  • Low Carb, High Protein, Low Fat: Unsustainable and unhealthy (there’s a big consensus across the board)
  • Moderate Carb, Moderate Protein, Moderate Fat: Sounds just about right to me (my tentative favorite)
  • High Carb, Moderate Protein, Low Fat: Common wisdom – and it may even be right, given rule #1.
  • Cyclic Keto: Some days low-carb, some days high carb, also dependent on exercise. Sounds like a good thing to try from time to time.

Sounds simple enough – I’ll post again in a couple of weeks to report on how I did in February. I’ll be giving the Moderate Carb approach a try – think oatmeal and starchy vegetables. I’ll aim for less than 20 grams of fructose per day, and more than 30 grams of fiber.

See you later! But in the meantime, feel free to comment or ask questions.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

