Skip to content

4 Hour Cookies

December 18, 2012

A couple of weeks ago I posted quite a few pics about my latest cooking experiments. Last weekend I decided to try a cookie recipe from the 4 Hour Chef by Tim Ferriss, which was released just a couple of weeks ago.

I’m not a religious person – far from it actually, but Christmas is coming, and if there’s any time of the year for baking cookies, this is it.
I don’t recall Tim relating the recipe to Christmas, but I think the rosemary – which is not exactly a coniferous plant  but has needle-like leaves which have a pine tree like smell – definitely makes that connection. In essence the cookies smell like a christmas tree, particularly if you present them in a christmas setting.
I won’t list the ingredients here (you SHOULD get the book yourself, it’s awesome) – but it’s very simple, and the main taste giving ingredients (besides the Maillard reaction) are rosemary and pistachios.

So here’s the delicious cookies:
I think that next time I will increase the amount of rosemary to 2 tsp, and maybe add a pinch of cinnamon. Another nice addition could be grated orange zest.
As an aside: I think that there’s a slight error in the recipe summary: It says to add baking powder only if you use gluten-free flour, when I think it should say “only if you don’t use self-rising flour” – you definitely need some rising agent in there to prevent the cookies from spreading too much. I also used slightly more flour than in the recipe, but that’s normal – with cookie recipes you always need to experiment a little.
From → Cooking

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

