Skip to content

The Weight Loss Experiment: Week 2

July 2, 2012

This is another quick update on my weight-loss experiment. From now on I will simply post weekly updates, so here’s days 8-14.

Day 8 (Monday)

Restrictive day. At noon I ate 150g of chicken breast, a small piece of cheese and an apple, in the evening I ate some cans of peas and carrots, some ham, two eggs and a can of Bihun soup (that a soup which is quite low in calories – it contains some rice noodles and chunks of chicken, but it’s basically just broth). I didn’t calculate the calories, but my estimate is somewhere around 1000. I didn’t do any exercise besides my regular commute by bicycle. Much to my surprise, I didn’t feel any extreme hunger pangs at all. πŸ™‚

Day 9 (Tuesday)

This wasn’t a restrictive day, so I had a regular lunch followed by a tall lactose free latte at Starbucks. The cool thing about lactose free is that it’s essentially normal milk with some of the lactose replaced with galactose by adding the enzyme lactase, which is exactly what happens in lactose-tolerant people during digestion (they produce enough lactase, lactose-intolerant people produce insufficient amounts of the enzyme). galactose is sweeter than lactose, so in essence lactose free milk is sweetened milk without any added sweeteners.

For dinner I had a cheeseburger and 9 tenders from Burger King, plus a can of peas and two fruit yogurts. The lunch was not particularly big, but in all honesty I ate a little too much that day, and I shouldn’t have stopped at the Burger King – or at least I should only have gotten one item there (a cheeseburger or the tenders).

Day 10 (Wednesday)

Restrictive day – ate a small piece of cheese, an apple and a tall latte at noon, and a protein shake, another apple and a can of peas and carrots in the evening.

Day 11 (Thursday)

Ate a big and cheaty lunch at my favorite restaurant, plus a tall frappucino (without cream). I planned it in advance though, and compensated for the calories by taking the long way home from work by bicycle (a 1 hour tour). I didn’t drink pure water but some flavored mineral water which added about 150 calories. When I got home I decided to do my weekly deadlift session:

Deadlift
Warmup: 60kg x 5 x 1
Work Set: 120kg x 1 x 5 (5 reps with really long pauses in between, so it’s more like five sets of singles)

After that I cheated a bit (again) and had one 800 calories pizza, two containers of jelly with vanilla sauce, and a 50g bar of dark chocolate with peppermint.  In retrospect I should have chosen one of those last two dessert items – I’ll try to enforce a “1 item” rule for desserts from now on.

Day 12 (Friday)

No breakfast as usual, at noon I ate an apple and a grande Java-Chip frappucino. This was supposed to be a restrictive day, but I had a voucher to redeem, and the weather was fine so I would do the usual bicycle tour in the evening, which I did. But during the tour I felt really great and upped the tempo, and by the time I arrived at home I decided to turn this into a non-restrictive day and add some squats.

Barbell Squat
Warmup: Empty bar (20kg), 10 reps
Work Sets: 50kg x 10 x 3

After those I pretty much repeated my dinner from yesterday, including the desserts, violating the “1 item” rule for desserts, but with the awareness that this time my total caloric intake was within the limits. Essentially The bicycle tour cancelled out the frappucino (I even went to the Starbucks page to look this up – both the tour and the frappucino amount to about 500 calories). That left the day with an apple, a 800 calories pizza, two puddings (estimated at about 500 calories), one yogurt (about 300 calories) and 50g of chocolate (300 calories). That’s 1900 calories.

Day 13 (Saturday)

Now this better be a restrictive day πŸ˜‰ … but in the morning I felt like working out some more, so I did a nice workout for my shoulders and arms:

Press (short for Standing Barbell Press)
Warmup: 30kg x 5 x 2
Work Sets: 60kg x 3, 57.5kg x 3, 55kg x 3, 52,5kg x 3, 50kg x 5, 47.5kg x 5, 45kg x 5, 42,5kg x 5, 40kg x 8

I had plenty of rest between the sets – typically about 5-10 minutes, I was listening to music and reading articles on the net during that time.

I only had a protein shake for lunch (after the workout). Later, much to my surprise, I again felt like going on a bike ride, so I did – and ended up getting a nice T-Bone steak for dinner. It was really good, and I only had some low-carb/cal vegetables and 10g of garlic butter with it. Afterwards I ate a small yogurt and one of the puddings I mentioned earlier – I discovered though that those puddings only have 100 calories each (I would have guessed more like 250 calories), so I was pleasantly surprised.

Day 14 (Sunday)

This turned out to be a bona fide cheat day. In short: No breakfast, lunch at my parents plus a tall latte and two slices of pie (one with cream), dinner: Greek restaurant meal plus two beers and dessert (Galaktoboureko with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream).  No cycling at all, since it rained all day.

To my defense, I did work out in the afternoon and achieved a new PR in the squat.

Barbell Squat
Warmup: 40kg x 5 x 2
Work Sets: 80kg x 5 x 3, 50kg x 8 x 3

As a consequence of this cheat day I will definitely make tomorrow (Monday) a very restrictive day, and for the next week I will aim for three restrictive days and will try to not let cycling interfere with that goal.

From → WL Experiment 1

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

